Susan Leigh Star speaking 29 July 2009

We are absolutely thrilled to announce that the next presenter in this series of video conferences will be Susan Leigh Star from University of Pittsburgh (formely at Centre for Science, Technology and Society at Santa Clara University). Leigh will be presenting from Charles Darwin University in the Northern Territory, Australia, who will be hosting the event. Helen Verran and Michael Christie will also be in Darwin with Leigh,  so we expect some lively discussion!

The video conference is scheduled for 29 June 2009 at 11:00 UTC (12:00 London; 21:00 Melbourne; 7:00 Toronto;  20:30 Darwin).

If you have a video conference system and would like to join us on the video conference bridge, please get in touch with your local co-ordinator (either Lyn Campbell or Laura Watts). Details concerning the live internet stream will follow. For more information please join the mailing list.

Twitter questions

Due to demand, STS Mixtures now has a Twitter service, where you can post your questions live on 8 May.

We will be listening for your tweets during Helen Verran’s presentation, and have set aside some time for answering questions from the internet. Alternatively, if you’d prefer, you can post your live questions for Helen on this blog page.

Don’t forget to email and let us know you’ll be there on the live video stream so that we can say ‘hello’.

Questions for Helen Verran

If you’re participating in the video conference with Helen Verran via the live internet stream, or will be Watching Again, then you still have an opportunity to put questions to the speaker…

We’re accepting questions in advance, based on the abstract and outline paper that could be useful background theory (under review for publication in ‘Anthropological Theory’). Please pose your questions for Helen Verran here on the website or email them to your local contact (Laura Watts in the northern hemisphere; Lyn Campbell in the southern hemipshere). We will endeavor to ask Helen a selection of these as part of the live video conference.

Deadline for questions: due to the time necessary to co-ordinate the event we can only accept questions up to 1st May 2009.

We look forward to hearing your thoughts and comments.

Helen Verran speaking live 8 May

We are delighted to confirm that Helen Verran, Associate Professor in History and Philosophy of Science at University of Melbourne, will be speaking at the first video conference seminar at 10:00 UTC (11:00 London BST | 20:00 Melbourne EDT | 6:00 New York EDT), on Friday 8th May 2009.

She will be speaking on Performing People-Place: Story-Screens in the Teaching from Country Initiative.

Read the abstract.

Read the outline paper that could be useful background theory (under review for publication in ‘Anthropological Theory’ so please do not quote without explicit permission of the author).

To participate please see the Video Conferences tab above for your local contact, or join the mailing list. We will be streaming the video conferences live over the web, as well as providing a video to Watch Again for those who are unable to be online at the time.

Videos Available: Workshop

For those who were unable to attend the workshop on 18 March 2009, the speakers were videotaped. You can can now watch the presentations again via an internet video stream, see the Watch Again tab above.

Call for Participation: Materiality and Specificity in STS Workshop

There will be an upcoming workshop on Materiality and Specificity at Lancaster University on March 18th, 2009. For more details, simply go to the Workshop tab above or click here.

Registration open

The online booking service is now open. Closing date for early bird registration: 28 February; closing date for applications: 16 March.

Call for Participation: Video Conference Seminars

We invite groups (both established institutions and informal networks) as well as individuals to join us for a series of video conference seminars in 2009.

There will be 3 events, each with a key international speaker followed by extensive discussion between participants, on the theme of  ‘Materiality and Story’.

Please see the tab Video Conferences at the top of the page for more information and how to join the conversation, or download the Call for Participation.

Deadline

Due to the technical complexity of the video conferences, if you are interested in participating please get in touch with us by 1st April 2009. We are planning a ‘test-run’ between all participant sites in mid April 2009, and the network for participants will be fixed at this point.